PDA

View Full Version : Programming VST's

Maxima
06-06-2004, 05:23 PM
How would you go about Creating and programing your own Virtual instruments? I have no programing experience but would love to no how its done. What programmes would you use??

Barely Human
07-06-2004, 12:39 AM
C++ is probably the best to write one with, but unless you know it really well, then i wouldnt bother. Best thing to start with is synth edit www.synthedit.com

yorkie
11-06-2004, 02:27 PM
to get started you will need C++.

get the vstsdk (Software Develeopment Kit) of the steinberg website

this has examples of vst effects that you can modify.

become a seriously massive DSP head!!

stay in doors for hours

yorkie
11-06-2004, 02:30 PM
another simpler option is to use CPS which is a reaktor/synthedit style vst creator.

you cannot create a GUI with CPS though

Maxima
11-06-2004, 05:31 PM
Nice 1 Guys, will check these out :lol:

Tecnik
22-06-2004, 11:34 PM
to program a VST,u will need a vast amount of knowledge regarding c++ and data structures.
If ya new to c++,the odds of being able to program a vst straight away are VERY VERY small.
betta off startin to learn c++ from the ground up rather then jump straight into something like a VST,will defo **** ur head right up.
ive been programmin c++ for around 2-2 1/2yrs now,and its a awesome tool to have wen u know how to use it,but until then,it can and will seem very daunting at times.
good luck :)

detfella
06-05-2005, 11:59 PM
u could try h4x instead :lol:

/* Bomb program that is solved using a buffer overflow attack */

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <ctype.h>

/* Like gets, except that characters are typed as pairs of hex digits.
Nondigit characters are ignored. Stops when encounters newline */
char *getxs(char *dest)
{
int c;
int even = 1; /* Have read even number of digits */
int otherd = 0; /* Other hex digit of pair */
char *sp = dest;
while ((c = getchar()) != EOF && c != '\n') {
if (isxdigit(c)) {
int val;