PDA

View Full Version : Deck Repairs

Jutt
14-06-2004, 09:46 AM
Whils I have a continous probelm with me tone arm making the needle jump, and not being able to get the screw in right, I've decided I want to get the professionals involved.

Is there anyone that specalises in reparing decks?

DJ SPUDIE
14-06-2004, 09:56 AM
There's some ramdom bloke down here that I got to repair mine, but I spose you would have to go in to a Technic's Centre of some where like that ;)

techno_smack
14-06-2004, 10:14 AM
Im not a proffesional, but i have got a good understanding of technics turntables.

Is it the screws that hold the tonearm in that r causing the problem? Have they come loose?

if so u need to unscrew them. Then screw in the smaller one until it supports the tonearm securely, not too tight as this will mess it up even more. Once the tonearm is held in right screw in the outer screws to lock it all together.

This should completely stop the problem.

Also if anyone is interested i can remove the center click from the pitch faders on technics mk2's and also make the the pitch continuous from -8 to + 8% so it doesnt automatically go to zero when the fader is in the centre. This makes mixing tunes around this area on the fader loads more easy.

cheers

Jutt
14-06-2004, 10:14 AM
As theyre Geminis, would the technics centre still fix 'em? ;)

Jutt
14-06-2004, 10:26 AM
Im not a proffesional, but i have got a good understanding of technics turntables.

Is it the screws that hold the tonearm in that r causing the problem? Have they come loose?

if so u need to unscrew them. Then screw in the smaller one until it supports the tonearm securely, not too tight as this will mess it up even more. Once the tonearm is held in right screw in the outer screws to lock it all together.

This should completely stop the problem.