PDA

View Full Version : fruitly loops

MangaFish
13-07-2004, 09:28 PM
i've a complete novice in producing so thought i would start my journy with fruity loops (learn the lingo and get to grips with filters etc) before moving on to something a lot more professional

needless to say i've already run into a brick wall. i cant for the life of me work out why my kick drums have no punch to them :bash:

i've spent hours tweaking compressors, pass filters and eqs (although i must admit i have no idea what the settings on the compressors or filters should be set to) with little improvement :cry:

any hints guys?

audioinjection
13-07-2004, 11:00 PM
layer your bass drums, or use different ones

MangaFish
13-07-2004, 11:24 PM
tried all that.

i've just downlaoded some new samples. hopefully these will do the trick

dan the acid man
14-07-2004, 12:11 AM
the brickwall setting on the compressor in fruity is a good starting point,
i usually set my attack to zero, release to 1ms, ratio usually set quite high, but it depends on the track and the threshold quite high.

EmotionComplex
14-07-2004, 12:15 AM
(although i must admit i have no idea what the settings on the compressors or filters should be set to)

theres your answer :lol: , compression is very subjective and im only starting to get the hang of it properly now but as far as kick drums go you are wanting to emphasise the snap to the beggining of it whilst controlling the volume of everything after meaning the kick peaks at the right place and stays controlled afterwards

although just guidlines try setting your compressor up liek this for a kick drum then you can work subtle changes around it till you get it sweet

attack = 2-5ms
release 10-20ms
ratio 10-1
- 15db
then make up the volume with the compressor gain