PDA

View Full Version : Looking for an entry level midi controller...

Greg Dee
03-11-2004, 02:45 AM
The topic describes it all. I want the best midi keyboard i can get my paws on for under $200 USD. What do you guys recommend? I'm a total noob to all of this and I want something that can do as many things as $200 will get you, as well as having some quality in the product.

RDR
03-11-2004, 12:41 PM
have a look at the evolution mk-249c. Not a bad k/b. I have used this in the studio, in the classroom with ham fisted students and in a live scenario for ages now. Never had a problem.

You can also get a free software front end from evolution so you can edit the controllers hassle free.

HTH

Internal Error Records
03-11-2004, 12:50 PM
oxygen-8

hiroprotagonist
03-11-2004, 01:12 PM
i cant remember how much i got mine for (i get deals) but i got my keystation49 and its doing really well. i have no complaints as of yet. im not a keyboard player so the velocity sensitive keys can get annoying but they can be turned off in a sequencing program.
knobs are sturdy and best of all it leeches power from my usb when im on the go (although why i would be on the go with a 49 key keyboard is beyond me) it does come in handy in the UK where i dont have the right power supply...
as cheaper than the ozone and more buttons and knobs. doesnt come with a sound card built in though.

Debroglie
03-11-2004, 04:22 PM
Don't get an Edirol PCR-30 , mine has 5 dead keys 1 month after the warranty finished and I'm no Keith Emerson , now they want a fortune to repair it.

audioinjection
03-11-2004, 10:06 PM
oxygen8, they're about $139

scienceofuse
04-11-2004, 11:42 AM