PDA

View Full Version : EQing/Mastering tip for fellow begginers...

John Vella
27-04-2003, 03:28 PM
I stumbled upon an Eqing trick that has REALLLLY helped me out. I am by no means an expert like many on this board, but this tip *might* be a help to newbies struggling to get their master levels eqed properly with the right ratios of lows, mids, and highs.......

Ok first of all, take a techno tune (off vinyl or CD) that you feel is *very* well produced... Be it a tune by Glenn Wilson, the Anxious, Marco Corolla, DAVE the DRUMMER... whatever... Just make sure it's a similar musical style to your current prodcution you are testing it against....

Now play it on your system.... Next, remove one part of the EQ from the mix at a time... (meaning first listen to the track with only the bottom end turned ALL the way down while the mids and highs are normalled (at 0 dB), then do the same with only the Mids missing, and then finally take out only the highs) Listen to how much of the track is comprised of each type of sound... Listen carefully to see how much is left of the track when the various freqencies are removed.... You will probably notice how well balanced it is... where none of the frequencies are OVERLY dominant in terms of the overall sound. (of course the low end seems the most dominant because of the kick, but you will notice that there is still plenty of elements remaining in the other frequencies....)

Now on the exact same sound system, put your own track to the same EQing test and compare it against the vinyl.... If you are a begginer at this techno business, you might be suprised (and rather disgusted) to see how poorly your own tune does against this test.... Meaning, you will find that most of your total sound is stuck in one or two regions rather than being balanced nicely thru the entire spectrum.....

You can also do this same test against the vinyl with basically anything you wanna test for....