PDA

View Full Version : Michael Burkat - a sort of homecoming

gary_human
21-01-2005, 01:48 AM
I just bought this. Im a DJ and I really love this - dunno why??! I guess I just love the simplicity of his grooves? My mate said he had it but got rid of it as he thought the production was none to good? I guess he (Burkat) aint gonna win any prizes for most forward thinking producer of 2004/5 but I really dig his simple dancefloor friendly grooves (I used to really love the simplicity of Timo Maas' earlier stuff - though he fell off and went all commercial). I must admit Im not a production guru and I can dig anything from house to electro to progreesive to psychedelic with anything from old skool and acid techno in betweeen, and I really love this - I just wondered what others thought on whether it needs to be forward thinking to be good??!

drift9
21-01-2005, 03:30 AM
I'm usually a pretty big fan of burkat's releases but this one really didn't do it for me. i love his minimal-but-driving approach to techno, but for whatever reason i didn't get a feeling of "character" off this one. just nothing stood out for me.

all the same, burkat will remain one of those "buy on sight" producers on my list.

The Overfiend
21-01-2005, 04:28 AM
http://mp3.juno.co.uk/MP3/SF162171-01-01-02.mp3

Dope
http://www.jayquan.com/kblow.jpg

dirty_bass
21-01-2005, 05:41 AM
I`m in two minds about Burkat.
His production is good, but I find his stuff just too simple, and lacking in ideas.
Kinda production over substance.
It works well as a DJ tool, but really I think you need to do more these days.
I dunno.
It`s probably me being pretensious again :roll:

killarava2day
21-01-2005, 07:32 AM
You know, I found this a little different too, some usual trademark stuff...but you can't bag him for trying out something a little different. I didn't really like it, but funnily enough there seems to be a few artists doin some remixes off this LP so, I dunno.