PDA

View Full Version : help with recording to pc

wez
21-04-2005, 09:35 PM
Hi all....just received my new soundcard so i can record my own mixes on mi comp,but theres a problem.ive been testing it and when i playback whatever ive recorded theres crackling noises every thew seconds,anyone know what this is?,im new to all this so mybe im doing something wrong....im running it through soundforge....im also not sure wich connection it goes into in the back of my mixer,when i put it in one,it plays back but i cant allter the volume through the mixer,the other just desables my crossfader and both channel sliders,and if i put it through my amp socket(were my amps pluged in)i can control the volume on soundforge but not the main volume whats coming through my amp.. :eh:

hope this makes sense,anyone help

Barely Human
21-04-2005, 11:46 PM
Is this a laptop by any chance?

wez
21-04-2005, 11:59 PM
no mate its not a lap top...

cheers

Mirsha
22-04-2005, 12:44 PM
On my mixer I've used my master output sockets to plug it into the pc without any problems, I've got a seperate volume control for the monitors which I use so it's not a problem.

Make sure that in the sound control panel (windows -> run -> sndvol32) in the advanced options you've switched to recording and you have the line in input selected.

Anyway the noise could be coming from a loose connnection, make sure all the plugs are firmly seated in their sockets. Make sure as well your decks as grounded on the mixer as well, though if this was the case you would probably hear the noise in the mix.

wez
22-04-2005, 12:58 PM
thanks for that mate....do i need certain phono leads or can i use any..

wez
22-04-2005, 01:11 PM
ive tryed all that but still the same....it sort of crackles n stutters if ya know what i mean :eh:

Mirsha
22-04-2005, 01:28 PM
The lead I use it a typical 2:1 with line plugs since thats where I'm taking the output from on my mixer.