PDA

View Full Version : Getting serious

EmotionComplex
11-06-2003, 02:44 PM
hi Mark + peeps.

I have been experimenting with music for a few years now,discoverd gabba techno through a guy who lived in my road when i was younger and used to bring cds back from germany, then came across the dark and serious sounds of hard trance through mix tapes i aquired in my highschool years (a lot of skelter and dreamscape packs of mr E.G himself :P) Im hoping to break out of my back room with my mixing soon but i spend more time writing stuff recently.

I currently own a k-staion synth rm1x sequencer and a couple of yamaha keyboards, the majority of my set up is software based (vst instruments + cubase sx)

My speciality seems to be melodies as i have been playing keyboards for most of my life, but i want to get into more serious production, which brings me to my question (sorry if this is going on a bit ill pick up the pace)

Im coming into a couple of grand in a month or 2 and want any advice u have in equipment,My aim is to use a moer hardware oriantated set up, want a new synth and a soundcard upgrade (currently using audigy plat) good studio monitors plus perhaps some outboard fx. Acess c keyboard version is lookin very appealing too.

thanx :D.
greg . Tracks to be uploaded in next few days
www.emotioncomplex.co.uk

Barely Human
11-06-2003, 02:52 PM
Dont get the virus Kc keyboard synth, get the standard version(its a lot cheaper!) and get a decent midi keyboard with assignable knobs for your vst controll. If you've got the dosh, the makie monitors are the ones to get! For the soundcard, check out the posts in the techno production forrum as there has been loads about wich soundcards to get.

DJ Corbzy
11-06-2003, 10:57 PM
Get a nice fat mixing desk, a JP8000 and a fast as **** PC. :D

DJZeMig_L
12-06-2003, 04:01 PM
Soundcard : RME Multiface + PCI Card
Ram : 1 Ghz
PIV 2.8 or better
Monitors : Mackie HR824
Controler : Novation Remote 25