PDA

View Full Version : Ableton or CubaseSX?

tekboi
27-07-2005, 03:52 AM
Which should I choose? I am a beginner in production and so far have been given more solid recommendations for ableton due to being more user friendly.

???

Craig McW
27-07-2005, 08:00 AM
Dude, try both.... see which suits you. I'm finding that I use Ableton sometimes, and cubase others.... both with Reason rewired and using VSTs etc.

Don't limit yourself.

RDR
27-07-2005, 08:47 AM
SX.

You need that learning curve.

TechMouse
27-07-2005, 10:21 AM
SX.

Agreed...

Ableton is very good for quickly putting stuff together, but the knowledge gained from getting to grips with Cubase (or Logic, or Sonar, or any other "traditional" sequencer) will be invaluable.

zaalmoetlos
27-07-2005, 01:48 PM
i prefer ableton cause cubase is too technical you have to open hundreds of screens which compromises your creativity. Cubase is better for mixdowns though so i'd say use both ableton to create and cubase/logic to do mixdowns

UngratefulNinja
27-07-2005, 02:15 PM
Honestly, everyone here is going to give you a different answer.

I started with Reason, only because at the time it was the only thing available to me. You may currently only have Ableton and Cubase at your disposal.

Play with both, see which one you like better.

Don't listen to people who say bla bla is better or such and such is the dogs bollocks. Where there is a will there is a way, and people have made insane music on every program, from Fruity to Pro Tools.

Just do what feels comfortable :)

BloodStar
27-07-2005, 02:26 PM
i prefer ableton cause cubase is too technical you have to open hundreds of screens which compromises your creativity. Cubase is better for mixdowns though so i'd say use both ableton to create and cubase/logic to do mixdowns