PDA

View Full Version : What have you learned from making techno?

AcidTrash
04-09-2005, 08:12 AM
Say anyhting you like. This is an open ended question.

What have you learned from making techno?

Be it about people, computers, the internet or even music?

da hound
04-09-2005, 11:28 AM
its hard work

Jay Pace
04-09-2005, 02:29 PM
You need a lot of time, in long periods.

Not something you can do in half hour snatches.

And it makes you want to buy machines.

acidsaturation
04-09-2005, 05:19 PM
Time management, trying to fit it around a full time job and a degree...

A hell of a lot of stuff about software, hardware, processes... I mean when I think of the shear volume of software that I have learned to use (mostly self taught) it's amazing - and how many different operating systems on my boxes etc... it's a lot to store in my little brain.

And I guess learning stuff like HTML has come from techno too 'cos it's given me a reason to learn that to promote myself - and that's helped me get jobs etc...

And the main thing is learning to be happy about myself so much more...
- That I am privilaged enough to have a talent to produce soemthing that makes others happy - whenever I get depressed I just remember how many people I've never met have come up to me and said "I've heard one of your CDs at my mate's it's wicked" or remember seeing a crowd going wild when I've played etc.

It's a good boost and has been something I've needed to learn...

Have to thank for it all, my ex Jeannine who got me my MC-303 for my birthday (nice having a rich bird for a while) all those years ago and got me into it all... (sorry - just got back from SoItIz party and necking lots of fluffy drugs so all still a bit loved up and happy!!!)

audioinjection
04-09-2005, 11:09 PM
i learned its not easy to make techno, especially thinking of fresh new ideas you haven't used before and applying them in your music :doh:

also managing time, it can be a pain

TechMouse
05-09-2005, 10:36 AM