PDA

View Full Version : Best Synth (HW/SW)

tekboi
21-07-2003, 05:36 PM
Hi everyone,

Just curious on peoples opinions on what the best synth for hardware and software is out there at the moment?

I have been told Absynth is the best soft synth.
As for a synthesiser not too sure, but would like to be recommended one.

Hope I can get some opinions for hardware and software thanks.

Cheers!!!

herman
21-07-2003, 07:13 PM
hardware = supernova my favourite piece of hardware that i have ever owned just so versatile.

not to sure about software as im still fairly new to it but i have got a lot of mileage out of that a1 synth that comes with sx already great bit of software that.

acidhead
21-07-2003, 10:26 PM
d'cota as a softsynth , or maybe try one of the modulars if your brave vaz

hardware - i go for the supernova2 as well - the virus does more - the novation sounds better :)

djTequila
22-07-2003, 02:51 PM
I found the Novation gave more immediate 'trance' sounds, but I couldn't make it 'scream'. The Virus is all very nice - the C sounds particularly good, but the user interface is fouled up beyond recognition. In a studio session, I couldn't find a way to manipulate the LFOs on a lovely trance lead patch... Nor could my friend, or the engineer! In the end we had to abandon the sound. :evil: Frustrating when you're paying for time, even more when you've found the right sound!

A Nord Modular or Nord Lead would be a good investment, from what I've heard of the sounds they can produce. Really crisp.

For software, if you want that Novation sound, the V-Station is quite lovely. Then back it up with Absynth or D'Cota for interesting pads and atmosphere... And some gorgeous lead & percussive sounds. I've had trouble with D'Cota in Logic though... The release on at least one oscillator seems to be permanently set to infinity!