PDA

View Full Version : Bingo! (more wonky stuff)

robin m
07-11-2005, 09:23 PM
This is my first effort in Reason, I've had it a month or two now - so quite messy and not very well mastered, any tips or feedback very much appreciated.

;)

http://www.anywhereenterprises.com/1/1/a?a=dF&p=sOWdQXy7PsOWOAApQZOAAIOQ

rhythmtech
07-11-2005, 09:31 PM
this is nice... kinda jackin! lackin a bit of warmth but still good.

robin m
08-11-2005, 02:31 PM
Cheers for listening & feedback - nice one ;)

When you say it's lacking warmth though, can you be any more specific? Do you mean maybe playing with some reverb on the hats or something, or is it the synth that needs looking at? As I say I'm a novice with reason so would appreciate any tips :twisted:

rhythmtech
08-11-2005, 05:14 PM
i think the whole bottom end needs phatning up... i'm listening on studio monitors and it sounds a little thin.. not much, but a touch would be nicer. hope this helps

TechMouse
08-11-2005, 05:37 PM
Cheers for listening & feedback - nice one ;)

When you say it's lacking warmth though, can you be any more specific? Do you mean maybe playing with some reverb on the hats or something, or is it the synth that needs looking at? As I say I'm a novice with reason so would appreciate any tips :twisted:

Some ideas.

Split the synth in two with a Spider Audio thingy.

Filter each signal... hi pass one, and lo pass the other.

Make sure the cutoff on each filter is set to the same frequency - dunno what exactly, possibly around 200/300Hz? That's just a guess, play around.

Apply some gentle distortion to the hi-passed signal. Nothing too crazy, just a little touch of overdrive.

Then mix the two signals back together.

See how that does you. Should give a bit of warmth to the sound, but keep the low end intact. Distortion usually has a side effect of totally arsing up your sub bass.