PDA

View Full Version : What was your first big break?

Jay Pace
05-12-2005, 11:59 AM
Ok - for those of you lucky/talented enought to consider yourself a productive member of the scene - what got you in?

I've been djing, running nights and producing for a fair few years, but time costraints and a habit of moving about the country and leaving contacts behind kinda stops me from ever really taking music further than being a personal passion.

Not that I wouldn't jump at the chance, but social life, job, missus etc all take up too much time to really make a decent go of it, and I'm not really willing to let any of the three slide.

But for those of you who have - how did you manage it?

eyeswithoutaface
05-12-2005, 12:24 PM
ive always been creative musically so production was a natural thing to get into, ive been playing the guitar for about 13 years now too and was always writing songs, been producing electronic music now for about 4 years. i say electronic because i dont just do techno, i do whatever i feel from hard techno, minimal stuff right through to house and even really low bpm chilled stuff, electronica etc etc.... not really had a big break as such production wise more just a culmination of alot of hard work over the past few years and meeting new friends in clubs, sending out tracks etc etc which has put me in the position of having a good handful of ep's lined up for release over the next few months and also got a lot of projects in working on too, some totally non techno too which is nice.... Dj wise, ive played loads of smaller local gigs which is the normal, but id say Voodoo last november was my biggest break as it were, getting to play after Terence Fixmer and being asked back to finish off the NYE party then which was great, and then further gigs off Voodoo throughout the year led to me playing my biggest gig yet to about 700 people after Green Velvet live, which was fantastic. Anyone whose been in the big room at the Carling can vouch its a fantas