PDA

View Full Version : Setting up your own record label

analog tactic
16-05-2006, 12:51 PM
So Gimme some Information guys. A friend of mine is going to launch a new record label and i wanted to get as much help for him as i could.

dan the acid man
16-05-2006, 03:03 PM
im not experienced or anything, but from what i can remember some wise people saying is,........ make sure you have enough material for a good few releases, so you can release one after another pretty quickly, to keep the interest high.
maybe get an established artist to do a remix on one side.

make sure the material really is good enough to be released.

apart from that, i aint got a clue :lol: :oops:

Si the Sigh
16-05-2006, 03:07 PM
I'm sure the Kick The Drum crew can give you some info.

dan the acid man
16-05-2006, 03:09 PM
new off shoot label called slap the bass (copyright of dan the acid man 2006)

Si the Sigh
16-05-2006, 03:11 PM
And the sub label of that is "Tickle The Top End" (Copyright of Si the Sigh 2006) :lol:

dan the acid man
16-05-2006, 03:15 PM
we've got this locked down si :lol:

Si the Sigh
16-05-2006, 03:21 PM
We own this shit man!! :lol:

fresh_an_funky_design
16-05-2006, 05:59 PM
So Gimme some Information guys. A friend of mine is going to launch a new record label and i wanted to get as much help for him as i could.

get him to slap himself then say "do i have a thousand punds minimum to throw away", repeat process 10x

if answer is yes then go for it

also it take up a lot of time and effort, and sales r shit at the moment not, and it could be very difficult to get going, then keep it going

dirty_bass
17-05-2006, 05:19 AM
First and formaost, look at the current market of the genre you are heading for.
There are hundreds of techno labels, send your stuff to them first, another label on the saturated market won`t do much.

No success?, ok, could be for a number of reasons.