PDA

View Full Version : Midi Controller & Vsti Question

Farnesol
16-11-2006, 11:36 PM
Hey there.

I'm a N00B. This place looks great.

Maybe you guys could help me out with this one

I have a UC33 midicontroller.. which i use a little bit with abelton.
What I wanna know is, it possible for me to save knobs & slider configuration with each vst i have. Everytime I say add a FM7 into a song the knobs are autmatically assigned in my UC33 on a particular channel or something. I have never really used my midi controller to its full potential but the manual is a bit confusing to say the least. I'm sick of just randomly assigning knobs & sliders. :)

Cheers.

Grenoybel
17-11-2006, 01:32 AM
Hi there, i'm no expert too, but i think that ableton doesn't yet have templates for midi automation control assign to each knob of your controler depending on the vsti or vst that you use.
Maybe it's possible to recall templates from the UC 33 with diferent programs controlling diferent values for each vst that you use, so you can then change on controller and not on the sequencer, but i can't help you with that since i don't have a UC 33.

Probably i didn't explained it right, but english is not my first language.

Good Luck

stjohn
17-11-2006, 03:29 AM
hmm.. im sue theres a way... but for the meantime... you could set a default ableton file to open, set up with an FM7 already on a track... and then midi-fy the controls of the FM7, using the pop out sliders on the midi track.

thing is with the UC33e is that, alot of the midi mappings overlap between presets. by this i mean, on preset 1, the channnel fader may occupy the same midi cc as say, the send knb on preset 4. i made up my own uc33 setup to avoid this so presets 1-4 are all different midi cc's, ...you'll need the Enigma software

UC33 settings:

UC preset 1: 8 Track Mixer with Sends
UC preset 2: 3 band Eq
UC preset 3: Assignable Master / Track FX
UC preset 4: Assignable knobs and faders

midi buttons 1-9: turn fx on or off.