PDA

View Full Version : You have a label? I have a question...

Orange
19-10-2003, 06:59 PM
Some releases have two tracks, just an A side and B side. Some have three, with A, B and BB. And some have four or more, etc. So, I'd like to know why? If you have a label, what goes into your decision regarding how many tracks you drop on a any particular record release? Thanx. :eh:

jonnyspeed
19-10-2003, 08:16 PM
I'm not an expert but I think its just personal choice based on what tracks have been done, how many of them are remixes and how many or new tracks. So most punters would expect 2 tracks and maybe one or two remixes in an EP lasting 18-20 minutes in total if you're paying 5 quid and maybe postage. Tell you the truth I'm glad for a couple of remixes on a 12" because its often the b-sides that really pound and clank and make my heart bump! So in my mind as many as you think will attract people to buy it. I've got some killer tracks that are only single sided vinyl and I love 'emand would pay more for them than some albums I've got.

Anyway as I said I ain't an expert :)

dan the acid man
19-10-2003, 09:36 PM
I dont think there are any set rules like jonnyspeed said, its up to the label, one thing i have noticed though is when its a new artist you tend to get 3 or 4 tunes per 12". This is probably because they are,nt established and its more tempting to have a listen to a new artist,s release when its got more than 2 tunes.

Dustin Zahn
20-10-2003, 04:37 AM