PDA

View Full Version : Software Vs Hardware

KEVIL
06-01-2003, 12:50 PM
Basically I'm wanting to buy the new Roland MC909 and the would like to know whether I would be disadvantaged by such a purchase with the end result of hopeing to release material.

I've been playing with Cubase SX, Fruity and other comparatable programs but for me I like things sorta more practical. Being an electrician, I'm very hands on and find software very boring, hence my attention span is quite short when I sit in front of the PC, even if I'm enjoying what I'm producing.

With hardware, such like the RM1X that I used to own, I for some reason can only find enjoyment and focus using such equipment.

Since the MC909 is worth 4 and a half grand AUD, I'd hate to see the end result unusable.

Any feedback would be much appreciated...as you can probably tell I'm rather green in the production side of things :)

Anonymous
06-01-2003, 01:27 PM
if you buy that MC groove crap you are a sucker.

Anonymous
07-01-2003, 06:27 AM
So how do you get around not having to use a PC. Or is there no other way? BTW, extremely helpfull info Gunjack. Cheers.

lunatrick
07-01-2003, 11:59 AM
Not sure about the mc909, but I've used both hard and soft (oo er!), and I know people who swear by both, so it's a question of taste really. you can get good results either way. If you definately want hardware I would go for something like an akai mpc coupled with a good synth from roland or novation. Where the pc would come in handy here is recording your tune into soundforge or t-racks and then applying some compression and eq to finish it off...but equally you could just dump it onto dat. I'm not the most experienced person however as I 've only released one tune, but there's my two pennies!

Anonymous
07-01-2003, 02:54 PM
cheers back at ya holmes. anyway, why don't you just make your own .wav sounds and load them into reason?

ViperXXL
08-01-2003, 01:47 AM