PDA

View Full Version : Which Allen & Heath for DJ Mixing?

tekara
01-11-2007, 08:43 AM
Hey guys,

Sold my turntables and mixer a few years back to get a Virus C and now im just jonesing to get my tables back.

The question is now, which Allen and Heath mixer should I get for mixing techno?

I heard great reviews from various artists like Liebing and Speedy J about A/H and i am curious about it. I have been using the Pioneer DJM series for the past 5 years and I want to change things up a bit.

Im assuming that when you play at clubs, the industry standard is still the Pioneer DJM series, but is anyone aware of the industry standard for the A/H series? And if so, which one?

Xone any good?

thanks guys.

ampassasinbirmingham
01-11-2007, 10:22 AM
Most new clubs will be sporting the new DJM-800 or the allen and heath xone:92.

Lots of clubs still use the xone:62 though.

If you want lots of effects go DJM. If you want smooth EQ's and filters go A&H.

Xone:92 has lost the studio style faders that the xone:62 had and replaced them for more dj like faders. The xone:92 also has 2 independant filters, and the filters sound amazing.

My advice would be the djm 800 though. it really is the bees knees and sounds super!!

benjames
02-11-2007, 12:24 PM
Its gotta be the Xone:92 for me:

Highest Quality Faders
Highest Quality FX (LP,MP,HP)
2 x stereo send and return bus

Its a popular argument about the effects on the 600 but imho the xone 92 has a wide variety of effects as they can be combined together nicely (eg HP/LP together = phase), plus you can bring 2 sets of effects on each channel together so they dont clash and if you feel like being fancy you can use the high grade x-fader to contorol these fx.

In my eyes the pioneer effects are good for a while then there is almost an embarassment towards using them, because at the end of they day its not very hard and they do sound cheap.