PDA

View Full Version : chords?

mister badtouch
06-12-2007, 02:44 PM
Just a quick question about chords...

Not sure if this is exactly the right place to put this topic, so apologies if I'm wasting anyone's time......but......

Listening to my old acids records has inspired me to be creative and try to make some acid techno tunes. I'm just wondering what chords are used to get a 'suf' style trance sound? I'm a complete amateur at music production, and so any help would save hours of randomly pressing keyboard notes and finding that everything sounds out of tune.

rhythmtech
06-12-2007, 04:14 PM
none :-)

just fiddle about with the notes till its sounds either dark or trippy :-)

remember all the best music is experimentation!

acidchild
06-12-2007, 08:31 PM
Look up Chord charts on the web. And play around with different ones until you find one that fits.

rhythmtech
07-12-2007, 07:09 AM
Look up Chord charts on the web. And play around with different ones until you find one that fits.

bah... experimentation is the key :xbiggrin:

acidchild
07-12-2007, 10:12 AM
Yes, which is why i say play around with different chords. You can't just hit odd keys and hope it sounds well. And not all chords are going to fit. Experimentation isn't ALWAYS the answer.

Aratron
07-12-2007, 10:15 AM
Yes, which is why i say play around with different chords. You can't just hit odd keys and hope it sounds well. And not all chords are going to fit. Experimentation isn't ALWAYS the answer.

like Les Dawson playing the piano badly. i guess you must be expert at all the chords before experimenting with them

rhythmtech
07-12-2007, 10:25 AM

but why stick to "recognised chords".. you're using a step sequencer... the more discortdant the better!!! just play around for an hour and have fun with it :xsmile:

unless you wanna maki8ng something NICE like acperience (classic as it was)

acidchild
07-12-2007, 10:25 AM