PDA

View Full Version : Ortofon

K Front
18-12-2003, 09:09 PM
I bought some Ortofon needles about 3 weeks ago and as soon as i started playing with them i noticed that every other tune i played sounded fuzzy, like what old needles sound like when there worn out.
I know it was defonetly the needles because i have checked by swaping the needles with my old ones on the same tune.

So i gave it a week or two and they were no better, i took them back to the shop and the bloke thought it was strange and sent them back. They were sent back to the shop and said they were fine! So theres nothing i can do about it. They are still sounding bad now..

I think this is pretty out of order because the only thing i can think of is to buy just two more needles for 50 quid! But im not sure i trust them to work either, so i dont want to throw my money away..

Does anyone else have these?

EmotionComplex
18-12-2003, 09:25 PM
are they concorde carts? ive had a similar experience when i bought a pair of stanton i-tracks but after a good 1-2 weeks they started to sound sweet, i think they might need time to be broken in as this has been the case with all my needles, they have allways sounded better after a week or 2

K Front
18-12-2003, 09:36 PM
Yeh there concorde, thats what i thought, but i have given them a good caining for 2 weeks.. Ill see how it goes though.

EmotionComplex
18-12-2003, 10:34 PM
if there sounding the same after 3-4 weeks then i reckon there faulty mate, is it both or just one?

K Front
19-12-2003, 08:35 AM
Yeh its both. Ill see what happens in a couple weeks. ;)

Andy__C
19-12-2003, 10:22 AM
try leaving the carts rest on the vinyl overnight............

I've never done this, but a few of my scratch dj mate's do it for they're shure carts...........