PDA

View Full Version : Audio Enhancers

Tyrisia
22-01-2003, 05:33 PM
Hi all - n Happy New Year!

I use a Behringer Ultrafex Pro to add bass and enhance, but I read somewhere that I shouldn't bother as this should be done at mastering with better equiptment in a proper studio. What's everyone's views on this? I've only just started to get to the point where lookin at gettin a tune mastered looks like an option - I'm pretty new to all this...

JACKSTAR
23-01-2003, 02:28 AM
Lower end Audio enhancers are tricky one really, I had a Aphex Type C enhancer which was meant to add some bottom end and help cut through some tricky top end but really it just messed up the whole sound. Like you say when you have your tracks mastered the engineer has stack loads of high end EQ / Compressors which unless you've got the cash and engineering knowledge your never gonna get it to sound as good. I would rather get another compressor as you can never have too many compressors (I have 8). Even a cheap compressor with a kick going through it will improve your finished product loads.

P.

www.paullangley.net

www.jackstar-recordings.com

SubNet
23-01-2003, 03:20 AM
Hi all - n Happy New Year!

I use a Behringer Ultrafex Pro to add bass and enhance, but I read somewhere that I shouldn't bother as this should be done at mastering with better equiptment in a proper studio. What's everyone's views on this? I've only just started to get to the point where lookin at gettin a tune mastered looks like an option - I'm pretty new to all this...

this would be cool to run instruments through like kiks and bass for low end enhancement .

Tyrisia
23-01-2003, 10:33 AM
Yeah - I do have a few compressors that I run the kik, clap and bass through, but comparing my own tracks to properly mastered stuff on the same monitors, there isn't that much difference, and trust me, I'm very self critical. As Subnet said, it does sound cool on kik and bass, if not overused :)

DJZeMig_L
23-01-2003, 01:39 PM