PDA

View Full Version : midi keyboard or midi controller

paranoid666
09-01-2004, 02:10 PM
I'm new to this game of trying to make music.At the moment I'm using reason 2.5 and when I get the hang of that I am going to purchase a copy of Sonar.
I just want to know what would be better suited to my needs.A midi keyboard or midi controller.I was thinking of getting a edirol pcr 30.

Mika Silo
09-01-2004, 03:04 PM
Hey i'm quite new too, and since i dont have a lot of money i'd have to carefully choose what im gonna buy next. Im not such a melodic :eh: man, so i'd rather be turning knobs and drawing notes in my sequencer. Offcourse its possible to control midi with the pcr 30, but i would rather buy a better midi controller with more knobs etc.. but thats just my opinion :lol:

mika

EmotionComplex
09-01-2004, 03:12 PM
Hey i'm quite new too, and since i dont have a lot of money i'd have to carefully choose what im gonna buy next. Im not such a melodic :eh: man, so i'd rather be turning knobs and drawing notes in my sequencer. Offcourse its possible to control midi with the pcr 30, but i would rather buy a better midi controller with more knobs etc.. but thats just my opinion :lol:

mika

i think its a good idea to find something that caters for control and keys, even if your not playing a lot of melodies etc i use my keyboard a lot of tapping in rhythms in realtime.

Im using a 4 octave controller with 12 assignable knobs, suits me fine but i suppose it depends on how you want to work, the novation control looks very good for lots of control options

Mika Silo
09-01-2004, 03:19 PM
i like that rhythm tapping thing you mentioned :), im gonna think it over again. And that pcr 30 does look cool! I've read it's price is below 250 (euro that is offcourse ;)) So even I could afford it! Cheers!

paranoid666
09-01-2004, 08:34 PM