PDA

View Full Version : Shipping Vinyl

TheRev
30-03-2009, 03:59 AM
Anyone have any experience with shipping large quantities of vinyl overseas?

I'm moving from New York to Amsterdam in a few months and trying to figure out the best way to get my collection over there. That is what I feel I absolutely can't part with / haven't digitized yet.

Any advice?

Do I even better? Should I just digitize like mad and get Seratto or something? Do people even play records there anymore?

Any tips greatly appreciated, and apologies if I've posted this in the wrong place.

acidpisar
30-03-2009, 08:41 AM
I think people play records everywhere so you can ship your vinyls.
If you have too much money use some shipping courier..but you can also ship it by ship as it is really cheap...but it takes up to 2 months.

TechMouse
30-03-2009, 08:55 AM
I have no experience of this, but maybe ship it in chunks?

Your chances of losing something go up, but your chances of losing everything go down.

DannyBlack
30-03-2009, 10:49 AM
Id be inclined to agree with Techmouse. If you have your address over there already, go ahead and move them in batches.

Make sure the box is secure and inside you have it insulated to maintain a neutral temperature. oh and LOTS of bubble wrap and "Fragile" stickers.

teknofilth
30-03-2009, 12:53 PM
I had some flown from london to colombia..went with Royal Mail as their site says online tracking..what they didn't say when I rang to ask where they were as they were a couple of days late "yes we offer online tracking but only up to point of departure"
so check what they actually mean by "online tracking" I would say(!)
they did turn up ok in the end..

DJPAUZE
30-03-2009, 01:01 PM
I have heard you can ship by sea by container and it usually comes out relatively cheap compared to air. Only setback is that it takes a bit of time.

A friend of mine moved over to euro and I'll check to see who he went with.

djfilthmonger
30-03-2009, 01:30 PM