PDA

View Full Version : compressors pt.2

miromiric.
04-02-2004, 03:52 PM
which are good hardware compressors out there? i guess i need a good mixing desk with it, but maybe it would be ok to route signal out from the soundcard and back in it for starters since i dont drive a car?

herman
04-02-2004, 05:37 PM
t la audio ivorys are very good for the money i have been using mine for about 6 or 7 years nows and still really like it . i think they are about £350 or something like that

DJZeMig_L
04-02-2004, 07:09 PM
TLA C1, Avalon! but these r a bit pricey!

Z

observer
04-02-2004, 08:16 PM
what herman said

Antinoise
04-02-2004, 09:29 PM
I'm not playing down the quality of external compressors... but the UAD-1 card has AMAZING compression plugins (plus more).. The new Fairchild plugin they just released is balls!! The best part is that its implemented like a VST. So much of my external gear goes unused because its just a pain in the ass to route (int-ext-int). ...Plus with a plugin you can use it multiple times on multiple tracks. It keeps the mixing within the computer which is nice and efficient. Once I got this card I scratched "High End Compressor" off my list.

That said, I would not trash a high-end focusrite if I had one. (I still want to get a Focusrite 430 some day to serve as a Mic channel strip and double as a synth compressor/eq..)

Antinoise
04-02-2004, 09:32 PM
If you are set on gettin an external compressor here is what Henry (D.A.V.E) said when I asked him this same question a year ago (before I descided to get the UAD)...