PDA

View Full Version : An Amateur in Need of Some Advice!

dem1983
05-02-2003, 03:02 PM
Hey :D
I am an amateur producer. I have a decent little setup in my apartment. It is a mix of both hardware and software. I am still waiting for my Yamaha RM1X though.
OK, I have a couple of questions I was hoping some experienced DJ's out there could help me with:

1. When sitting down to create a song, should you have a general idea of what you want the song to sound like, or should you just play around and wait for something good to happen?
2. What are the steps you usually take when creating a track? Do you make the beat first, or do you start of with a melody or synth?
3. I have FruityLoops, how long does it usually take to become comfortable enough with the program to start making some nice sounding shit?
4. I want to use Fruity with my RM1X. Now I know that you can slave the RM1X to Fruity, but is it possible to creat a sound or loop in Fruity and export it into to RM1X to use on the hardware sequencer.(Does that make any sense or do I not know what I am talking about?)
5. If any of you experienced DJ's wouldn't mind lending me some other advice that you feel an amateur might need to know, that would be great!

Thanks for help!

MARKEG
05-02-2003, 04:03 PM
There's no hard and fast rules to techno, but here's my personal answer to your questions....

1. When sitting down to create a song, should you have a general idea of what you want the song to sound like, or should you just play around and wait for something good to happen?