PDA

View Full Version : what does your process look like?

hiroprotagonist
17-02-2004, 01:09 AM
no im curious. im completely all self taught. anything i use ive learned on my own with no manuals or mentors.
right now its all pretty basic. i record my sounds from my synth and drum machine into my computer via a halfway decent sound card with sound forge. then i tweak the sounds with plugins to make them just right and upload the samples into acid 4.0. at this point its all laid out punched into a wav and sent back to soundforge for any after effects and slight eq tweaks.
what do other producers do? i know my setup isnt the best in the world but right now im not expecting to purchase anything new for some time due to my finances. what process do you go through?

-hiro

interferron
17-02-2004, 08:44 AM
well i was self taught for the first 8 years or so and then went to school to study recording/production - to see how it's done in the "real" studio with "real" musicians hah.. i was surprised to see that my process didn't change that much, i was already doing the same at home..

it's mostly like this for me

1) "composition" - with all the midi equipment, arrangement, mad ideas and creativity. i do everything in logic audio. all the editing and tweaking here. basically anything i want to do to get a sound or an arrangement.

2) recording - i record every instrument to audio tracks in logic. get the best possible signal level, normalize everything, mostly record everything dry without effects/processors. tracks go like: 1-kick, 2-snare, 3-hihat, 4-percussion, 5-bass, 6-synth, 7-synth, 8-sample... etc.