PDA

View Full Version : WAAAh!! i sold my gear!

hiroprotagonist
02-03-2004, 06:00 PM
:cry: i decided to start selling what little gear i have. first out the door is my old mc505 and im debating getting rid of my xbass09 (prolly wont). i figure its time to move on and get something new. this sucks because now i dont have a computer (sold it for a laptop that never came) and now im not going to have anything to write with!!!
what gear would you reccomend for someone starting from scratch again. i need it relatively cheap cause im a student but i dont want to go the route of soft synth yet since i dont even know when ill be getting my laptop :cry: i need a core piece i can start writing techno with again.

-hiro

detfella
02-03-2004, 06:52 PM
how about a second hand akai mpc2000?

DJZeMig_L
02-03-2004, 07:08 PM
Nice ideia but I guess the Mpc 1000 has higher specs, and price wise shouldn't b much different! Jus a little tip! ;)

Z

hiroprotagonist
02-03-2004, 07:22 PM
im definetly not a audio gear guru but i dont think an mpc is what im looking for. i have a drum machine already that can make some decent sounds. as far as sampling and what not i would consider that second on my list of things to get after my main synthesizer. i also write sound tracks and melodic orchestral glitch breaks so im definetly looking for the best synth bang for my buck.
what advantages or uses does the mpc2000 have? im actually kind of confused as to how i would integrate that into my studio.

detfella
02-03-2004, 07:30 PM
mpc is used mainly for drums so u don't need that.

synth wise - i love all the clavia range, and people say the virus is awesome. Do a search, i'm sure people have asked about the best hardware synths for techno before. Also, you should go to a sound shop to see which one suits your own needs. All the shops here, let you play for hours.

hiroprotagonist
02-03-2004, 07:44 PM