PDA

View Full Version : a start...

alton
19-02-2003, 08:15 PM
right, I would really appreciate some advice from you guys... (there seems to be a lot of knowledgable people on this board)...

I'm wanting to buy some hardware for writing techno...I've been using reason for about 12 months...and have a good understanding of how to get some decent results out of it...but now I want to get some kit and take things a bit more seriously...so, what would you guys recommend?

my initial budget is £1000-£1500 (is that enough to make a start towards a reasonable set up?) (i've been looking at the adverts on the sound on sound website)...I'm wanting to build up a studio over time...so what could I start with...?

Cheers

Alton

Jimfish
19-02-2003, 08:30 PM
what do you have so far???
list everything...
ie. speakers, amp, computer, mixer, soundcard....

yes, it can be enough at a squeeze...depending on what youve already got...

oh, one thing i can advise you to do without further info:

there is an electrix filter factory on there for the bargain price of 100 scroats.......BUY IT NOW! an outboard filter is an invaluable tool, and that is a ****in goodun....and ****in cheap....

Jimfish
19-02-2003, 08:41 PM
basicallyy i would say the other things you will need are:

active monitors (ideally) - 300
small mackie mixer - 400
8 output soundcard - 300
midi keyboard - 80
filter unit - 100
aphex 109 eq - 100
cables - 50

sampling, seqeuncing & synthesis can all be done in cubase/logic....

but everyone has a diferent approach....this is just what i would do with that budget....

eyes without a face
19-02-2003, 09:03 PM
im just starting to get some gear together, starting with my PC which i got about 4 months ago now, 2.4ghz pentium, 120 gig HD, 512mb DDRAM, its a daddy basically. getting Samson Servo 170 amp and Spirit Absolute 2's in about 3 weeks, getting a midi keyboard but not sure which to get, probably get the evolution.

its expensive starting out haha

alton