PDA

View Full Version : FAO MARK EG - SOFT SYNTHS?

Boogerman
22-02-2003, 05:00 PM
Hi there Mark and everyone else.

I have just discovered this site - wot a bloody great find.

I have been producing hard trance for a couple of years now, doing everything on a PC. I was wondering if you ever use any softsynths for
lead lines ?

I have experimented with layering different sounds together to try to get a novation-style fat saw-tooth sound, but it never sounds the way I want. Can you recommend any sources for lead sounds.

I have been experimenting with the likes of the PRO52, Triangle II, JUNO X2 etc.

I hear a soft version of the V? station is to be released, so perhaps that will be a winner...

MARKEG
22-02-2003, 07:07 PM
concentrate on that pro 52.... the pro 53 is out too - amazing synth.

there's nothing wrong with soft synths...

Jimfish
22-02-2003, 11:08 PM
A: make sure you have the right trancy chords - not sure what these are (cos they make me want to puke :lol: ) but when you hit them they can make a fart sound trancy... :wink:

B: put some filters moving about when you are auditioning sounds on a loop....a lot of these synth sounds really come to life with a bit of ye olde filterin' (pro52 often sounds a bit dull to me untill i filter it about and then it is DADDY!!!!)

C: dont forget a bit of reverb and perhaps delay!!

all the synths you mentioned canachieve trance results.... even most of the ones free with cubase can....even the ****in bass guitar synth can....
its really all about what keys you are pressing.....

Barely Human
23-02-2003, 02:01 AM
also try arpegiating your riff. A lot of trance uses layered arpegiators at the mo.

aponaut
24-02-2003, 03:50 PM